2011 Club Champions

Competition winners everywhere

Words Chris Ralph. Pics Courtesy Emily Sneddon & Jervis Ward


Congratulations to the 2011 Club Championship Winners (Corrected Points)

1st Russel Pilven  199
2md Gary Edwards 197
3rd Fraser Ross 193

The President’s Cup (and the 200 Club)

This new perpetual trophy celebrates and rewards the effort of those who have a real crack at the Championship, by running at every meeting. To score more than 200 points in a season takes commitment, great car preparation and consistent driving ability.

The top scorer wins the President’s Cup, a major competition award up there with the podium winners of the Club Championship. The inaugural winner, Andy Clempson, ran his Mustang in eight Victorian and one interstate round for a massive score.

The proud members of the 200 Club for 2011 are:
Andy Clempson 287
Fraser Ross 269
Gary Edwards 259
Leo Tobin 251
Rod Hotchkin 236

The Golden Oldies

An award as old as the Club itself, the Golden Oldies celebrates results in Victorian historic race meetings. There are now four of these but the results are judged over the best three.

Outright and Nb winner was Nick Cascone in the Cortina, second and top Nc scorer was Steve Coad in his Torana, third was Rod Hotchkin in the booming blue HO.

State Series Championship

There were three Staties this year and top points went to Angelo Taranto in the Torana, a single point ahead of Leo Tobin, himself a single point ahead of Fraser Ross – a close finish indeed. Awards went to the winner in each class.

The HTCAV Rally Championship

Now in its third year, the Club’s Historic Touring Car National Rally Championship expanded trophy wise with equal sized trophies for both driver and navigator, to emphasize the team nature of our sport and results were based on cumulative rally kilometers over Targa Wrest Point, Targa Tasmania, Classic Targa Adelaide and Targa High Country. That totals way over 1000 kms of competitive driving.

The winners came from Tasmania for the night’s frivolities – Scott and Wayne Kent (Ford Mustang); second-placed Bernie and John Wilson (Ford Capri Perana) were not able to make it down from Canberra. Third spot on the podium were locals Paul and Christine Freestone in the amazing super Uber Humpy. 

The Elective Awards

Rookie of The Year

Ted Perkins in his red Lotus Cortina impressed the judges with his fine driving and good results in Group Nb, giving Johnny Luxmoore and others a hurry up in his first year in the class. Top work!

The Encouragement Award

This year the Norm Beechey went to Darren Smith in his white XY Falcon GT HO. Darren had a mixed run at the Winton Festival of Speed but did well in the enduro and then showed good speed and consistency at the Sandown historics. That’s encouraging!

The Hard Luck Award

Double winners for the first time: David Noakes and Peter Owen had a coming together in their BDA Escorts at Sandown which wrote Peter’s off and badly re-damaged David’s. The Club was pleased to offer a complimentary night and accommodation to them both in a minor compensation – and of course, the Hard Luck Award.

The Teams Award

Tasmania’s Phil Shepherd walked away with this one, or he would have if he was there. Always a well presented car backed by a smartly turnout out team – a worthy winner.

The Clubman of the Year Award

Well, somebody other than Jervis or Dean Bryant was bound to win it one year and this year it was me, although I voted for Jervis who was probably more deserving. Thanks to the Sneddon family for providing a very worthy trophy and advice on the recipient.

The Ian Jones Trophy

One of the two major elective trophies in the Club, both of which are decided by two elder statesmen, Ken Zinner and Ted Brewster. The Ian Jones trophy is for derring-do in Group Nc and in 2011 it went to the Silver Assassin, the silver haired Les Walmsley in his silver Charger for his gold standard performances.

The Ken Raper Trophy

This coveted award, in memory of the dashing Chev Impala racer who lost his life in 1987, is also decided by our two oldest and wisest monkeys. Contrary to misinformation it is not for Group Nb nor is it necessarily for performance on the track, as non-competitive but highly contributive members have won it in the past. Who knows the criteria or the processes that take place, but the recipient is always a worthy – this year it was Len Read, who was visibly moved by the honour bestowed.

This occasion was even more significant, as Ken’s mother Alva and brother Graeme (a noted historic racer and former Prince Skyline GT punter) presented the award. It was the first time that the Rapers had been at a club function for 24 years, but the family is once again involved as Graeme’s son Lewis is besties with Fraser Ross and is a keen member of his pit crew.

The Club remains in debt to the Raper family as income on the original sum they bestowed to the Club for the care and maintenance of the Ken Raper Trophy has been a cornerstone of our growth of the last two decades.

And a once-off, the Golden Gob Award:

No it’s not really called that but a handsome microphone-styled award was on hand for Darren Knight, in appreciation for all that he has done as “The Voice of Historic Touring Car Racing’. As noted in the last mag, Darren has done an enormous amount for our Club and category in his on-track commentary and on-deadline race reporting and we thought it should be recognized. Thanks, Daz.   

It could be you, Tommy…

Don’t think anyone remembers Tommy Hanlon Jr (why would one?) or that we have any members called Tommy, but if you fancy standing up getting one of our increasingly spiffy awards at next year’s Presentation Night, go for it!