2012 Phillip Island Classic Under 3 litre

Top weather, top racing

Pics courtesy Phil Wisewould, Jim Jones, SDpics & Rob Lang. Words Darren Knight.

Jason Humble (Mazda) picked up where he left off last year by starting from pole and shooting into an early lead with Island debutant Phil Woodbury (Mazda) right behind. Graham Russell was out after a start line clash with the Porsche of Rory O`Neill.

The Cortinas of Ted Perkins and John Luxmoore seemed to be glued together during a great dice while Bill Attard squeezed past fellow Mazda man Bob Sudall to secure third on the last lap. Humble won by a second from Woodbury. Mark Johnson (Porsche) ran down Wayne Rogerson (Mazda) right on the line to bag fifth. Errol Stratford (BDA Escort) was seventh then Alan Mayne (Mazda), Peter Van Summeren (BDA Escort) and Paul Bruce in another Mazda to make it seven Rotaries in the top ten.

Woodbury made a better start to grab the lead in race two while Phil Barrow rotated the worlds fastest FJ at Honda with some excellent driving by those behind resulting in no damage. Humble blew by Woodbury on the front straight and went on to win with Sudall third after another massive battle with Attard.

Race three saw Humble and Woodbury swap the lead several times in an entertaining contest as Kirk Davis (Mazda) fell out of the top ten and retired as did Richard Fairlam with a loose dizzy wire in the EH. Humble took the win despite gearbox dramas (which required a swap before the final race) with Woodbury second and Attard third. Steve Land (Capri) set the fastest lap during his climb to sixth.
Engine dramas prevented Woodbury from starting the final, allowing Humble to hare off into the distance and establish a race winning lead. Johnson dropped places after a half lose at Honda as Land pressured Attard for second, all to no avail as the Mazda set fastest lap on the final tour.